DIRT MODIFIEDS--Major Boost In Super DIRTcar Point Fund



DIRT MODIFIEDS--Major Boost In Super DIRTcar Point Fund

WEEDSPORT, N.Y. - The Super DIRTcar Series is seeing an increased point fund for the 2022 racing season that will amount to $200,000 dispersed to the top 15 full-time competitors at the end of the year.

The payout is a $77,000 increase from this past year, plus three additional drivers paid out.

"Stemming from a successful PRI show that saw several exciting announcements for our World of Outlaws series - and overwhelming support from our partners - I'm thrilled to also announce an increase in funding for our full-time Super DIRTcar Series competitors," said DIRTcar CEO Brian Carter. "Next year is a special year for the Super DIRTcar Series with the historic 5C NAPA Super DIRT Week in October. The increased points fund and an increase in full-time competitor's guaranteed earnings w keep the prestige yearlong for our loyal full-time drivers and our superior fanbase."

More than half of the awarded top 15 positions are seeing an increase of 50 percent or more.

For example, 11th-place will see a 66.7 percent increase. The top 15 full-time platinum drivers in points will also benefit from a significant increase in the proposed guaranteed pay per race.

The increased payout accompanies the recently announced 2022 schedule, featuring nearly 30 events across six states - the fi time in 15 years the Super DIRTcar Series has ventured to six different states in a season.

Included in that schedule are several events that pay $10,000 or more to win: series' debut at Ohio's Atomic Speedway on Mar 26), the series' return to Pennsylvania (July 12-13), the debut of SummerFAST (Aug. 16-18) and the prestigious $50,000-to-win B Whittaker Cars 200 during the 50th NAPA Super DIRT Week (Oct. 3-9).
Matt Sheppard claimed his eighth Super DIRTcar Series championship in 2021, becoming the winningest champion of all time.

In 2022, he'll have the chance to further that stat and pick up a healthy amount of money along the way. But he'll have to contend with the best big-block modified drivers in the country like 2019 series champion Mat Williamson, '18 Super DIRT Week champion Larry Wight, Australia's Peter Britten, Max McLaughlin and many more.

2022 Super DIRTcar Series point fund: